Saturday, 16 March 2013 02:34

DHORC Introduces New Adjustable Power Supplies in 2013

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)


We will be introducing new Mercury adjustable power packs to DHORC for the 2013 season. The Tomy Power Packs have done us proud over the last 21 years but it is time to change. These will ensure we receive exactly the same power for each lane and once we have bought another six for the ten lane corporate tracks (and ovals) we will have the option to be able to turn down the power on those lanes used by the very young!

During 2012 we reviewed several different types of power pack. Roy Masters was the first to come up with computer power packs followed by Alan Bullock producing a similar system. While both of these worked fine the power supply wasn’t immediate and it made the cars much easier to drive out of the corners. You just couldn’t light up the rear tyres and so it made the tram lines between the top and lesser drivers much narrower. There wasn’t any penalty for too much throttle use; it was like traction control in F1.

We used one of these Mercury power packs at the Rally event which had a big thumbs up from all


New Tracks for 2013

Like in 2012 Phil Rees has come up with some new tracks in 2013. This time however he has replaced existing tracks with more up to date versions.

The 213’ Interlagos track (based on the one used in the 1970’s) we have used since January 1994 will be replaced by the shorter contemporary F1 version.


Phil has also brought the Spa circuit up to date with a few tweaks including the new chicane.


Our 2012 Members’ Achievements


What an incredible year 2012 was for DHORC on so many fronts, the racing in particular was spectacular. Again congratulations to all of our winners and thank you to all for making 2012 so special. Here is how everyone did:

Our remaining Adult Members…

Our remaining Junior Members…

DHORC at CHORC 6 December 2012

DHORC was again represented at CHORC on 6Dec12 for their final meeting of the year with Martin Allsopp, Ryan Blake, and Matt Holland joining Jamie Sismey and myself.

Dean Wragg beat Doug Passell by the distance shown below with myself being just over a second further behind as can be seen on the computer monitor.


Thanks to Doug for a great year, see you all in 2013

Rally Night 30 October 2012

Ryan Blake and Jamie Sismey organised a great evening of Rallying on Tuesday 30Oct12. It was based on a knock out competition where all drove on both lanes and recorded the most laps in two minutes. DHORC also supplied free Pizza’s for all to say thank you for their support throughout 2012. Adam Hall won the Juniors while I fought it out with Jamie to win the Adults.

The two lane track wound itself around the Refreshment Room

Ryan and Jamie at Race Control

Matt Blood and Dan Buckley had a great race off in the last 16, Matt taking the win

Lee Pateman certainly enjoyed the Pizza’s!

Another shot of that long, long track


Jamie and Ryan work out the knock out rounds


A very happy Junior Champion Adam Hall

Read 13773 times
More in this category: Round 1 – Reims – 8Jan13 »